Do you have a career plan?

Hello all

Today, Wednesday, 25 November 2015 marks the first time I said no to a potential job.

Usually, I only apply for  jobs I want, but I would still get phone calls about other jobs in different sectors. Asked if I’m interested in the job during these phone calls and my answer is always yes. I answer yes to be polite, but mostly because I don’t feel I am in the position to turn down a potential job. I felt I wasn’t intelligent enough to pick and choose which job I want. As a result, I would just accept whatever was offered to me, whether it was something that I want or not.

As I get older, I’ve realised it’s very important to be happy in your job. Don’t just accept a job because you feel you won’t get anything else, don’t just accept a job because it pays well.

Accept a job knowing it’s something you want to do. a job that will make you happy, a job that you can look forward to each morning.

Know what you want in life and work towards it. Never ever doubt yourself. Instead, build yourself up.

I know the type of jobs I currently want and I can see myself doing it in the future. I know I can be great asset in that field because I am passionate about it, and I have great knowledge and experience from previous jobs and from studying at university.

Turning that job down earlier today, has made me realised how much I have grown as a person and that God has been listening to my prayers. Yes the job may very well pay really good, but if I won’t be happy in it and if it’s not what I want, and I know I have the asset to get the job I really want, why take it?

Furthermore, I would be taking someone’s place that would really enjoy that job. I also believe that by doing this, God has made more room for the right calls. I have received quite a few calls, all potential job offers for the job I can see myself in.

The journey is so much more excited when you know what you want and when you know longer doubt yourself.

Therefore, as a reminder:

Know what you want. 

Have a career plan.

Build yourself up, work on branding yourself. 

Never doubt yourself. Believe in yourself. 

Categories: Tags: , , , ,

5 Comments

    1. Thank you. I totally understand how you feel. Yeah, follow your gut feeling and do what you think is best for you. Plus they will find someone to fill the spot anyway so everyone will be happy in the end :).

Leave a Reply

