Worst Interview Experience Ever.

“How people treat you is their karma; how you react is yours. With everything that has happened to you, you can either feel sorry for yourself or treat what has happened as a gift. Everything is either an opportunity to grow or an obstacle to keep you from growing. You get to choose.”
~ Wayne W. Dyer

This qoute right here, is one of the reasons I’ve decided to quit crying, wipe my eyes and move on.

It was the early hours in the morning. I receieved a phone call.

I was asked to attend an interview for a trainee marketing position working within a law firm. Due to my busy schedule I had less than a day to prepare.

I went out and bought clothes for the occasion.

I pulled outside the law firm. I was surrounded by expensive cars. I looked at myself in the mirror and thought about my little Toyota Yaris Gracie due to feeling out of place. I decided to still go for it.

15 minutes before the interview I received a phone call from a lady saying my interview has been cancelled and that I should have received an email.

Checked my emails. No email was sent to me.

I proceed to let them know I was already outside. She said she will ring me back.

She rang back. “You can attend you interview today, sorry for the confusion” she said.

I made my way and was given a visitor’s badge.
Inside was posh. I sit and waited.

During my interview, I didn’t feel welcome. I had more than what they asked for. I had experience which wasn’t necessary because it was a trainee role. Yet I felt my integrity was being questioned:

“Why didn’t you do straight A levels?”
~ What does that have to do with the role, Is my degree not enough?!

“What job does your boyfriend do?”
~ seriously?!

“What did you get in blah blah blah?”
~ I passed all the fooking lot, why are you asking me what I got in Psychology, German, etc. How is that relevant?”

“I don’t know if you know anyone that works in law (‘yes I do, my aunty is a lawyer but either way you don’t give me time to answer that’) but I must tell you they are quite professional blah blah blah”
~ Yes I know and you would too if you gave me a chance to answer. they are also human beings like you, your boss and myself.

Etc etc etc.

“Well I have run out of questions to asked so that wraps it up for today, blah blah”
~ Wow, you are so professional. Could you please repeat the first 9 words you just said?”

“We will get back to you either Monday or Tuesday. We have some more interviews to do”

***
One hour later:

“I’m sorry to tell you that you didn’t get the job blah blah blah”

*More like I’m sorry to tell you that we either had someone already hense why we tried to cancel your interview OR that you don’t fit in our law firm OR both!*

~ Thank you for getting back to me so so soon. Next time please don’t waste my time or make me waste money I don’t have to attend an interview and be made not to feel welcome.

However, Thank you for the opportunity. I’ve never met anyone like you or your boss so I had no idea people like you still exist. However I do now so once again thank you.

P.s The link I was asked to look at had nothing to do with your business based on what you said, so again my time was wasted reading about a total different company that had nothing to do with your firm. I realised this in the interview but I didn’t feel the need to show you up on your mistake.

*delete delete delete I can’t send that. I should be the bigger person*.

Hi……

Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to attend the interview.

Many Thanks,
…..

*Why do I have to be the nice person?*

Few days later I receive the email telling me my interview was cancel.

This interview was by far the worst job interview I have ever experience. In fact, I have never been to a job interview where I didn’t feel welcome.

You just have to never let people get to you, cry if you want, but don’t let it keep you down. get up and move on.

Categories: Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments

  1. I hate experiences like this, but I guess at the end of the day it’s an experience, and one day you will be successful and get your dream job xx

    1. I can imagine. And I agree, that’s the way I intend to look it, thank you 🙂 and thank you very much again, I honestly can’t wait for that day.

      I wish you all the best in everything you do. xx

Leave a Reply

