“Welcome to the real world! It sucks! You’re ganna love it!”

Before I get too carried away, I just want to point out that I know the title of this blog post is from the T.V programme ‘Friends’, hence why it’s in quotation marks. However, if you were going to point it out, it is possible that you’re a huge ‘Friends’ fan like I am, so HIGH FIVE TO THAT! (:

Right, so I’ve finished university and I currently a marketing assistant intern, working 9 – 5 Monday to Thursday and I must add that I love what I do. I wake up every morning either 6:50 or 7:00, jump on the bus to the town centre and then jump on another bus to work. On my way to work, I look out through the bus window and see people rushing about going to work, lots of traffic from people on their way to work and I think to myself “where has time gone?”, “when did I become one of those people rushing about to work?”

Where are the good old days when my mum wakes me up for school? The good old days when I’m on a bus packed with other college students who can’t wait to get to college and hang out with friends? The good old days when I’m living in a student accommodation enjoying student life, sometimes a drink or two before bed, relaxing to music, playing monopoly, and so much more.

The real world does suck as you find it difficult to find free time, you are now among the many working class people rushing to work and if you’re running late, you’re going to look as grumpy as they do; you feel you have to conform to society on how you are meant to ‘act’; you can’t turn up to work wearing your comfiest casual clothes because you happened to went out the night before and was too hang over to get dress in your appropriate clothes for work, etc. ( I could go on and on, but you get my point – I hope anyways 🙂 )

However you’re going to also love this real word your in, because it’s a whole new chapter in your life, and quite precisely, no one is stuck on the same chapter for the rest of their life, everyone is always moving forward at some point, whether these are tiny steps or big steps forward.

You’re going to love this new chapter in your life because it means seeing and learning new things, meeting like minded people, becoming independent, earning money, gaining experience, you enjoy what you do and you will have a clear overview of you may become in the future- this could be getting a promotion, buying a car, getting your own place, etc.

However, the real world doesn’t have to suck as much as it does, you can take control. I wrote a post titled “Make the most of life…“, which speaks strongly about having time for ‘play’ amongst your busy lifestyle.

You might not be able to do the things you used to do a few years ago and/or when you were younger, but it doesn’t mean you can’t be who you are and enjoy life, it is just remembering there is a time and place for everything and knowing when the timing is right and whether or not it’s the right place. This does sound like a bit of deep thinking but it’s not, its plain and simple just common sense.

So an example of this is that you could do your usually burp contest at home but not at work (obviously). However, if you are usually quite socially outside of work, nothing says you can’t be sociable at work as well. Make free time and trust me, if you sleep early each night so you’re up early for work the following morning, at the end of the week, you won’t feel as tired. I say this because the majority of working people find that they are too tired to do anything when it gets to the weekend, but from experience and seeing it from other people, you are less likely to feel too tired at the end of the week if you sleep early during the week.

I won’t go to in-depth about how you can make time, but my message is:

Take control, Be who you are, Embrace your new chapter and enjoy it.

The real world doesn’t have to suck and you will love it.

Additional message: I am not trying to remake the quote from ‘Friends’. Even though Monica told Rachel the real world suck, I am pretty sure Rachel enjoyed being in the real world and it didn’t suck as much for her :).

Categories: Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

